Search Results
City Council
1400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

Manhattan Beach is a general law cityMore with a five-member city council, elected largely to formulate policy for the city through votes in public meetings. Each member serves a nine-month mayoral position during his or her four-year term.

The Council is also responsible for drafting the city's annual Work Plan, copies of which can be found on the Manhattan Beach City Web site.

City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of every month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall at 1400 Highland Avenue. Meetings are broadcast live on local community cable, Channel 8, and via live streaming video. Post meetings are rebroadcast at noon on Thursdays.

Contact all Council members collectively by sending an e-mail to CityCouncil@citymb.info.


Nicholas Tell, Jr.

Expected Mayoral Term: July 19, 2011 - May 1, 2012

Term Expires: March 2013

Wayne Powell

Expected Mayoral Term: May 1, 2012 - February 19, 2013

Term Expires: March 2013

David Lesser

Expected Mayoral Term: 

Term Expires: March 2015

Amy Howorth

Mayoral Term: 

Term Expires: March 2015

Richard Montgomery, mayor

Expected Mayoral Term: October 5, 2010 - July 19, 2011

Term Expires: March 2013

Manhattan Beach City Hall
1400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

City Hall is Manhattan Beach's main government building. Constructed in November 1975, it replaced a previousMore structure that was condemned shortly after an earthquake damaged it in February 1971. The original 1916 cornerstone reportedly did not contain any historical mementoes, but city officials added it to a wall of the new building to preserve historical tradition.

Both the Human Resources and City Attorney's offices are on the first floor, along with the Engineering division. The first level also houses Council Chambers, where all City Council, as well as board and commission meetings are conducted. Notices and agendas of upcoming meetings for all departments can be found on the city's Web site.

The second floor of the building is comprised of the offices and staff of the city manager and city clerk, along with those of the departments of Finance, Community Development, and Parks and Recreation.

See more »