110 Mira Costa Students Make National Honor Society

Chapter officers light four candles for the society's pillars--scholarship, service, leadership and character--at a morning induction ceremony on campus.

One hundred and ten Mira Costa High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society at a ceremony in the school cafeteria Thursday morning.

According to MCHS English teacher and NHS faculty adviser Nicole Wachell, all of the students: maintain a 3.6 unweighted, academic GPA or higher; are very active on campus and in the community, and have been highly recommended by their teachers.

After reciting the NHS pledge "to uphold the high purposes" of the society--scholarship, leadership, service and character--MCHS Principal Ben Dale addressed the audience followed by MBUSD Superintendent Dr. Mike Matthews. 

"Mira Costa is a great preparation ground but they're going on after this to bigger and better things, and NCS for some of these students is their first taste of academic success recognition and we hope that they take this and it sparks them to go on further and do more more with their scholarship," said Dale, who was a member of the NHS three decades ago, of which he said, "... it's still one of my fondest memories from high school."

Said Dale of the inductees, "They're the backbone of our school because not only are they great scholars but what you have up here [seated in rows behind Dale who was at a podium] are athletes, musicians, performers, La Vista editors Mustang Morning News members, club presidents, yearbook. Our whole campus is represented in these scholars, and I wanted to word that carefully because I didn't want ot say 'They're just not scholars,' because it's OK to be just a scholar, but the point I want to make is these are true leaders on our campus."

Well-known NHS members include Meryl Streep, Katie Couric, Troy Aikman, Alan Alda, Bill Bradley, Van Cliburn, William Cohen, Cindy Crawford, Elizabeth Dole, Gloria Estefan, Jamie Farr, Jasmine Guy, Dan Jansen, Jeanne Kirkpatrick, Fred MacMurray, Stone Phillips, Cal Ripken, Jr., Jon Voight, Jerome Bettis, Dick Cavett, Sheryl Crow, Lou Dobbs, Gerald R Ford, Connie Francis, Marilu Henner, Lee Iaccoca, Chuck Mangione, Christopher Parkening, Fred Rogers, Pat Sajak, Diane Sawyer and Rod Serling. 

The 110 students who were inducted into NHS, which was founded in 1921, are [in alphabetical order]:

Ahmed, Yasin

Anderson, Christina

Azafrani, Rachel

Bacich, Kate

Bandel, Jennifer

Bordokas, Nikole

Bosmajian, Caroline

Brow, Delaney

Bryan, Katherine

Burns, Meghan

Campbell, Alexandra

Campbell, Matthew

Casady, Braden

Casady, Carter

Casady, Jackson

Cespedes, Melissa

Charney, Delaney

Chase, Ryan

Chen, Brandon

Ching, Kaycee

Chung, Emily

Clark, Brigitte

Comroe, Michelle

Currey, Braden

Curtis, Molly

DiNiro, Nicholas

Enomoto, Kara

Estes, Regan

Feinberg, Eliza

Foland, Taylor

Foster, Aurora

Fournell, Lauren

Fredrick, Madison

Gerami, Kevin

Gerard, Adam

Gill, Paige

Gillam, Joan

Giuliano, Gianna

McNeal, Kristen

McQuown, Kaitlyn

Meyer, Douglas

Nath, Abha

Neshat, Neda

Noda, Chiaki

Nwoke, Michelle

Olivas, Isabella

Olson, Nicolette

Palencia, Stephanie

Gordon, Karentessa

Gordon, Raquel

Guziewicz, Marcianna

Hafetz, Brandon

Hagedorn, Lauren

Harris, Nicole

Henn, Jaclyn

Hoft, Juliana

Howat, Taylor

James, Hannah

Jones, Brittany

Jones, Erin

Jung, Danielle

Kay, Danielle

Kelleher, Daniel

Kim, Jason

King, Cameron

Klein, Ava

Knudson, Makenna

Lee, Dawan (Diane)

Lewis, Taylor

Locke-Henderson, Sarah

MacCormack, Ian

Maier, Campbell

McCarthy, Kelly

McGuire, Hanna

Patel, Divyani

Perlot, Rachel

Poddar, Prerana

Primm, Zach

Quinn, Mackenzie

Regan, Christina

Robak, Maggie

Rosenberg, Jack

Rosenfeld, Gabrielle

Rosenthal, Jeffrey

Roth, Rebecca

Sandoval, Yvette

Shigemura, Brent

Siegemund-Broka, Isaac

Siltanen, Samuel

Southwood, Grant

Taylor, Elliot

Taylor, Kylie

Thomasson, Zachary

Thue, Peirce

Tian, Jane

Tondo, Jessica

Torres, Victoria

Truscott, Sophie

Vikser, Jessica

Vollucci, Angelina

Vu, Victor

Warshaw, Kathryn

Winterhalder, Brooke

Wissel, Thomas

Wu, Jessica

Yates, Kathleen

Yeh, Eleen

Yoon, Enah

Zaun, Ian

Zukotynski, Brian

Gayle McQuown October 22, 2011 at 05:38 PM
I'm so proud to live in the MB community! Such amazing talent to send into the world ;)


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »